Three passionate broadcasters win George Atkins Communication Award

| Septemba 10, 2018

Download this story

This year, Farm Radio International is proud to present the George Atkins Communication Award to three hardworking broadcasters whose dedication to farmers is clear in their work—although in very different ways.

Mubiru Ali is a broadcaster at Radio Simba (and a runner-up for last year’s George Atkins Award!), and was one of the first in Uganda to be on air with information about Fall armyworm. This is because of his close relationship with farmers, who told him it was an important topic. Even before the Ministry of Agriculture had gathered information, Mr. Ali was broadcasting farmers’ techniques for managing the pest.

Earl Samuels, from Tamale, Ghana, is another one of our award winners. His dedication to farmers is clear from the fact that he started farmer programs at four radio stations: Suhupieli FM, Radio Amana, Sunshine Radio, and Pupieli FM. He brings a variety of broadcasting and technical expertise to his work, gained through his 15 years of experience.

Lilian Madelemo, from Dar es Salaam, Tanzania, is newer to broadcasting, joining Uhuru FM in 2011. But she also has a variety of expertise—hosting celebrity news, music, business, and agricultural programs—and a clear dedication to farmers. She is passionate about getting more women’s voices on air.

The George Atkins Communications Award is named after the late founder of Farm Radio International, and recognizes the work of broadcasters in producing and presenting radio programs that support small-scale farmers to feed their families and increase their income. Farm Radio staff, board members, and past winners were invited to vote for this year’s winners.

Each of these accomplished radio broadcasters will receive a certificate and $500 CAD ($380 US). This year’s worthy runners-up, who will also receive a certificate, are:
– Nama Boureima Benjamin, Radio Evangile et Développmenent, Burkina Faso
– Mathewos Feleke, Wolaitta Sodo Fana FM, Ethiopia

Stay tuned for profiles of these five great broadcasters in future issues of Barza Wire.