Notes to broadcasters on the G8 meeting:

    | July 5, 2010

    Download this story

    The G8 countries are: France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom, the United States, Canada and Russia.

    The seven African countries invited to this year’s meeting were: South Africa, Malawi, Ethiopia, Senegal, Nigeria, Algeria and Egypt.

    The G8 declaration for the 2010 meeting can be found at:

    More information on the agreements made at L’Aquila regarding food security:,0.pdf.

    And here is a document that briefly describes the Global Agriculture and Food Security Programme:

    You can find general background information on the G8 at:

    Read a recent summary of progress towards achieving the MDGs here: