WAMECA 2023: Call for entries

| May 15, 2023

Download this story

The Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA) is calling for entries for the 7th edition of the West Africa Media Excellence Conference and Awards (WAMECA).

WAMECA 2023 will be held from October 19–21 in Accra, Ghana, and will focus on the theme: Media and Democracy in Africa.

The awards are open to journalists from print, broadcast, and online media in Anglophone, Francophone, and Lusophone countries in West Africa. Applicant musts be West African and working with and for a media organization(s) based in the sub-region.

Entries for the awards must have been published or broadcast between January 1 and December 31, 2022.

WAMECA 2023 will honour outstanding works of journalism in West Africa in the following categories:

● Human Rights Reporting
● Investigative Reporting
● Anti-Corruption Reporting
● Environmental Reporting
● Health Reporting
● Telecoms and ICTs Reporting
● Business and SMEs Reporting
● Migration Reporting
● Women Empowerment Reporting
● Oil and Gas Reporting

The deadline for entries is June 30, 2023, at 17.00 GMT. Finalists for the WAMECA 2023 Awards will be announced on October 3, 2023.

Learn more about the awards and the event: https://www.mfwa.org/wameca-2023-call-for-entries/