UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize

| January 29, 2018

Download this story

This prize is awarded to a person, organization, or institution that has contributed significantly to the defence and/or promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world, especially when this that contribution was has been achieved in the face of danger.

The prize is awarded each year on World Press Freedom Day, May 3. The winner receives US$25,000 at a ceremony.

The prize is named after Guillermo Cano, a Colombian journalist who was assassinated in front of his newspaper office in 1986. During his 34-year career, Mr. Cano he reported on many issues, including drug trafficking and its impacts on his country. He was known for his commitment to diversity of opinion.

Submissions can be made in English or French.

The deadline to submit a nomination is Feb. 15, 2018.

For further information, please see: https://en.unesco.org/news/unesco-seeking-nominations-unescoguillermo-cano-world-press-freedom-prize-2018