Southern African Development Community Media Awards

| January 20, 2020

Download this story

The Southern African Development Community has launched their annual media awards, which recognize excellence in journalism. The competition is interested in journalism that shares information on activities that support regional co-operation and integration, including infrastructure, economy, water, culture, sports, and agriculture.

Journalists working in print, radio, television, and photography are invited to apply, and winners will be chosen in each of these four categories. Works should be in English, Portuguese, French, or any national indigenous language in the SADC region. Journalists from Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe are eligible.

Each category winner will be awarded $2,500 US, and runners-up will receive $1,000.

The deadline to apply is Feb. 28.

For more information, go to: