October 31, 2009: New deadline for Radio for Peacebuilding Africa Awards

    | September 28, 2009

    Download this story

    The deadline has been extended for submitting entries to the Radio for Peacebuilding Africa (RFPA) Awards 2009. These awards recognize the best radio programs that contribute to peace in Africa. According to the RFPA website, the awards celebrate programs which reduce tensions in groups and communities, enhance and give value to shared interests, break down listener stereotypes, and/or provide positive role models.

    There are five award categories:
    -Radio for Peacebuilding Africa Community Radio Award
    -Radio for Peacebuilding Gender Award
    -Radio for Peacebuilding Africa Children’s Award
    -Radio for Peacebuilding Africa Youth Award
    -Radio for Peacebuilding Africa Special Award

    For a full description of each category, click here: http://radiopeaceawards.org/en/categories.htm.

    Entries must be received by October 31, 2009. Three prizes will be awarded in each category, as follows: first prize 250 Euros (approximately 355 American dollars), second prize 100 Euros (approximately 140 American dollars), and third prize 50 Euros (approximately 70 American dollars).

    -For more information on the Radio for Peacebuilding Africa Awards 2009, click here: http://www.radiopeaceafrica.org/index.cfm?lang=en.
    -To listen to the winning programs from 2006, visit: http://www.radiopeaceafrica.org/index.cfm?lang=en&context_id=4&context=audio&cont_menu_id=41&page=main&theme=41.