Norbert Zongo Investigative Journalism Award 2017

| August 22, 2017

Download this story

Journalists from across Africa are invited to submit their best investigative work, in French or English, to the Norbert Zongo Investigative Journalism Award. The competition is open to journalists employed by or regularly collaborating with African media, whether print or broadcast. The prize recognizes excellent in-depth reporting on political, economic, social, and cultural subjects.

There are three categories: radio, television, and newspapers. The winner in each category will receive a diploma, a trophy, and one million CFA francs ($1,800 US). The overall winner will receive an additional sum of one million CFA francs.

Contestants must send one investigative story to be judged according to the following criteria:

  • journalist’s professional conduct
  • research strategies used in the preparation of this story
  • relevance and originality of the subject covered
  • interest and impact of the topic
  • evidence of difficulties encountered by the journalist
  • editorial style

Applications must be submitted by Aug. 30.

Norbert Zongo was a Burkinabé investigative journalist, publisher and editor. He was shot dead in 1998. A presidential commission later concluded that Zongo’s killing was politically motivated, triggered by one of his journalistic investigations.

For more information and to apply for the Norbert Zongo Investigative Journalism Award 2017, see: