Investigative journalism awards

    | June 1, 2009

    Download this story

    FAIR Investigative Journalism Awards – Deadline: July 31, 2009

    The Forum for African Investigative Reporters (FAIR) invites nominations for its 2009 awards. The FAIR IJ Award is presented to an article or program that stands out for its investigative quality, newsworthiness, relevance, and the importance of its subject. To be eligible, an article or program must have been published or broadcast between July 1, 2008 and July 1, 2009. If the article or program is in a language other than English, French, or Portuguese, the nominator must provide an accurate translation in one of these three languages.

    FAIR also presents an Editors’ Courage Award, to honour an African editor who has courageously, in the face of pressures, threats, and obstacles, published or broadcast a good quality and important investigative piece. The awards will be presented during the African Investigative Journalism Conference at the end of October 2009.

    -For more information on the FAIR IJ Award, visit:
    -For more information on the Editors’ Courage Award, visit:

    MISA John Manyarara Investigative Journalism Awards Deadline: September 1, 2009

    The Media Institute of Southern Africa (MISA) invites entries for the 2009 MISA John Manyarara Investigative Journalism Awards. The awards recognize excellence in investigative journalism in any media within the Southern African Development Community (SADC).

    Award categories are as follows:
    -The MISA John Manyarara Investigative Journalist of the Year Award. The winner will receive a cash prize of 4,000 Euros (approximately 5,600 American dollars).
    -The MISA John Manyarara Upcoming Investigative Journalist of the Year Award. The winner will receive a cash prize or 2,000 Euros (approximately 2,800 American dollars) and a scholarship valued at 6,000 Euros (approximately 8,400 American dollars) to further develop his or her skills in investigative journalism.
    -Another 11 journalists could win a fully sponsored trip to participate in a three-day training on investigative journalism convened by the Investigative Journalism Workshop at the University of the Witwatersrand in partnership with the Institute for the Advancement of Journalism, the London Centre of Investigative Reporting, the US-based Investigative Reporters and Editors, and the Forum for African Investigative Reporters.

    To be eligible, a story or series of stories must have been broadcast or published between January 1, 2008 and December 31, 2008. For more information on these awards, go to: