Innovation Prize for Africa

    | October 3, 2011

    Download this story

    The United Nations Economic Commission for Africa and the African Innovation Foundation recently announced the 2012 Innovation Prize for Africa. Two awards will be given to selected innovators/entrepreneurs. Submissions will be accepted in three categories: ICTs, green technology (energy and water), and health and food security (including agriculture). The first prize will be US$100,000, with a second prize of US$50,000.

    The award aims to encourage young entrepreneurs, innovators, and funding bodies to exchange ideas and explore innovative business opportunities.

    Though the projects/initiatives can be conducted in any language, including local languages, submissions should be translated into English or French. Entries that do not address projects in Africa and are not undertaken by local African citizens are not eligible.

    The deadline for applications is October 31, 2011.

    For full details visit: