Food Sustainability Media Award Competition

| March 27, 2017

Download this story

The Food Sustainability Media Award was established to recognize journalism that delves into the food system, recognizing that food is more than just good-tasting recipes. The award recognizes journalism that investigates one of the many challenges the food system faces, including poverty, malnutrition, over-consumption, waste, population growth, and climate change.

Journalists can submit in one of three categories: written journalism, photography, and video. Each category recognizes both published and unpublished work.

Winners in the published works category receive a 10,000 Euro prize ($10,800 US). Winners in the unpublished works category receive an all-expenses-paid trip to attend a Thomson Reuters Foundation media training course on food sustainability, and their work will be distributed via the Thomson Reuters Foundation.

The written journalism category is open to professional journalists, bloggers, and freelancers. Individuals can submit only one entry per category. Published works in the written journalism category must have been published between May 2016 and May 2017.

All submissions must be in English or translated to English.

The deadline to apply is May 31, 2017.

For more information about the published written journalism category, go to:

For more information about the competition in general, go to: