Courage in Journalism and Photojournalism

| January 20, 2019

Download this story

The International Women’s Media Foundation presents two awards that recognize women journalists who report on taboo topics, work in environments hostile to women, and share difficult truths.

The Courage in Journalism Awards recognize women who are committed to press freedom and the power of journalism. Candidates must be nominated.

Candidates should be full-time or freelance journalists working in print, radio, television, or online. The application must include up to five examples of stories produced by the journalist, which can be submitted electronically in the application, by email, or regular mail. The application is available in English and French.

The deadline to apply is Feb. 7.

For more information, go to:

The Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award recognizes photographers who report from hostile locations and promote a better understanding of the world. This award is named for the Pulitzer-Prize winning AP photographer, Anja Niedringhaus.

The winner will receive a cash prize of $20,000 US and their work will be showcased at the German Ambassador’s residence in Washington, DC.

Applications and third-party nominations should be submitted before March 1.

To be eligible, photographers must work as full-time journalists and identify as women. Both freelance and affiliated journalists are eligible.

The application must include 12 photographs that represent the scope and style of the candidate’s work. Each photograph must include a caption, and six of the photos must have been taken in the past two years. Candidates must also include a nomination statement written in English.

The application is available in English and French.

To learn more, go to: