COMESA Media Awards

| January 8, 2018

Download this story

The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) is accepting entries for its annual awards competition. The COMESA Media Awards recognize journalists who have contributed to regional integration by producing reports on the subject.

Relevant reporting topics for the competition include development projects involving more than one COMESA member state, or a national project with a regional dimension. Projects could involve trade, energy, transportation, ICTs, investments, and gender, among other topics.

The awards are open to print, radio, television, and online media in English, French, and Arabic. Entries must have been published or broadcast in one of the 19 COMESA states between Jan. 1, 2017 and Dec. 31, 2017. (For a list of COMESA members, please see link below.)

Entries must consist of the following:

  • Print: articles of 700 to 1,500 words published in newspapers, magazines, journals, or newsletters
  • Radio: documentary or discussion programs, 10 to 20 minutes long
  • Television: documentary or discussion programs, 10 to 20 minutes long
  • Online/new media: articles of 700 to 1,500 words

Winners will receive a monetary award, a trophy, and a certificate. COMESA will also sponsor winners to attend the COMESA Heads of State Summit in early 2019.

The deadline to submit entries is Jan. 31, 2018.

For further information, please see: