Call for entries: Radio for Peacebuilding Africa Awards 2013

    | July 15, 2013

    Download this story

    The Radio for Peacebuilding Africa (RFPA) Awards recognize original, high quality radio programs that contribute to promoting peace and tolerance on the African continent.

    The Awards showcase and reward radio programs that attempt to reduce tension between different groups and communities, highlight and enhance the value of shared interests, break down stereotypes, or feature positive role models and agents for change.

    The 2013 Awards are open to all African radio broadcasters based on the continent, regardless of age or gender. Prizes will be awarded in the following categories: Gender; Youth; and the RFPA Jury’s Special Award.

    Programs submitted to the competition can be in any language spoken on the African continent, but must be accompanied by a full translation in either English or French. They must be a minimum of 20 minutes in duration, and have been broadcast between January 1 and December 31, 2012.

    Three cash prizes will be awarded in each category, and the winners will be honoured at an awards ceremony.

    The entry form, as well as previous winning entries, are available for listening and download from the audio section of the RFPA website,

    For more information and to apply, contact the RFPA Team at

    All entries must be received by midnight GMT, July 31, 2013.