Call for entries: Global Shining Light Award

| April 12, 2015

Download this story

The Global Shining Light Award is a prize awarded to a journalist, a team of journalists, or a media outlet that has worked under threat, duress or difficult conditions.

Every year, dozens of journalists and media workers are killed and hundreds more are attacked, imprisoned or threatened in the course of doing their job. Many of these violations of free expression occur in developing or emerging countries, and quite often during military conflicts. But there are as many journalists killed every year covering crime and corruption as are killed covering wars, according to the Committee to Protect Journalists.

An increasing number of journalists are being killed, and media outlets attacked, because they are carrying out important efforts in investigative journalism – exposing uncomfortable truths, shining light on systematic corruption, and providing accountability.

The award organizers are inviting applications from investigative journalists who have reported in developing or transitioning countries. Submitted reports must:

  • be investigative in nature
  • cover a serious issue, wrongdoing, or system of corruption, and
  • have been completed in the face of arrest, imprisonment, violence against the journalist(s) and their families, or threats and intimidation.

The award is sponsored by the Global Investigative Journalism Network. The winner will receive a plaque, $1,000 US, and a trip to the 9th Global Investigative Journalism Conference to be held October 8-11, 2015, in Lillehammer, Norway.

Journalists must have broadcast or published submitted reports between January 1, 2013 and December 31, 2014.

If the original entry is not in English, a full translation or lengthy summary of key findings must be provided in English.

The deadline is May 1, 2015.

For more information, go to: