Award to recognize journalists in developing countries

| April 26, 2021

Download this story

The Kurt Schork Memorial Fund, in partnership with the Thomson Reuters Foundation, is offering an award to honour journalists in developing countries.

Applications are open to all journalists in developing countries.

Journalists can apply for one of three categories:

  • Freelance journalists covering international news
  • Local reporters covering events in their country of residence
  • “News fixers,” whose local knowledge contributed to the content, impact, and reach of stories written by foreign reporters or news organizations

Three winners will be selected, one per category. Each winner will receive US $5,000.

To apply, journalists must submit three written articles published between June 1, 2020 and May 31, 2021. The topics of the articles can include war reporting, human rights, corruption, and other issues affecting the lives and well-being of others. All submissions must be made in English. Articles not originally published in English must be translated.

The deadline to apply is May 31, 2021. The application form is available only in English. For more information on the awards, and on how to apply, go to: