Apply for the Media Foundation for West Africa excellence awards

| May 2, 2022

Download this story

The Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA) is calling for entries for the 6th edition of the West Africa Media Excellence Conference and Awards (WAMECA).

WAMECA 2022 will be held from October 20 – 22, 2022 in Accra, Ghana, and will focus on the following theme: Media and Women Empowerment in Africa.

The awards are open to journalists working in print, electronic, and online media in Anglophone, Francophone, and Lusophone countries in West Africa. All applicants must be West African, working with and for a media organisation based in the sub-region.

All entries for the awards must have been published or broadcasted between the period January 1 to December 31, 2021.

The awards will honour outstanding journalism in West Africa in the following categories:

  • Telecoms and ICTs reporting
  • Oil and gas reporting
  • Business and SMEs reporting
  • Anti-Corruption reporting
  • Health reporting
  • Environmental reporting
  • Investigative reporting
  • Human rights reporting

The deadline for the submission of the entries is on June 30, 2022, at 17.00 GMT. Finalists for WAMECA 2022 Awards will be announced on October 1, 2022.

For more information on the awards and how to apply, go to: