Application form: George Atkins Communication Award

July 08, 2019
A translation for this article is available in Swahili French

The George Atkins Communications Award was established in 1991 to recognize rural radio broadcasters for their outstanding commitment and contribution to food security and poverty reduction in low-income countries. The award is named after George S. Atkins, the Founding Director of Farm Radio International.

The award is presented each year to an individual who demonstrates overall programming excellence in responding to small-scale farmers’ needs, as well as commitment to Farm Radio International.

To be eligible for the award, an individual must work at an organization that has been a broadcasting partner of Farm Radio International for a minimum of one year. If you’re not sure of your station’s eligibility, please contact radio@farmradio.org.

To apply for the George Atkins Communications Award, send the completed application form (reproduced below), as well as a photo (preferably of you at work in the studio or conducting an interview), and a recording of your program to one of the following email addresses. The deadline to apply is July 23, 2019.

The winner of the George Atkins Communications Award will receive $500 CAD and be awarded a certificate at a prize ceremony.

Please send your application to one of the following email addresses, depending on where you live:

Burkina Faso: burkinafaso@farmradio.org

Ethiopia: ethiopia@farmradio.org

Ghana: ghana@farmradio.org

Malawi: georgevilili@gmail.com

Mali: mali@farmradio.org

Senegal: senegal@farmradio.org

Tanzania: tanzania@farmradio.org

Uganda: uganda@farmradio.org

If you live in a country other than the ones listed above, please send your application form to: radio@farmradio.org

Please include “George Atkins Communications Award” in the subject line of your email.

Download the application form: http://wire.farmradio.fm/w/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/GACA-Application-Form-English.docx